By Robin Wood

FAIRBANKS — Candidate filings for local offices have begun to trickle in since the filing period opened Monday.

Fairbanks North Star Borough
Two candidates have expressed interest in becoming the Fairbanks North Star Borough’s next mayor, but only one has declared candidacy.
Karl Kassel, current presiding officer of the borough assembly, has filed for candidacy. State Rep. Tammie Wilson has filed a letter of intent with the Alaska Public Offices Commission, but the borough website does not show that she has submitted paperwork to the borough. APOC is a state regulation agency.

Current Mayor Luke Hopkins has reached his term limit.

On the Borough Assembly, three seats are up for election this October, and candidates have filed with the borough for all three.

Dennis Alexander filed for Seat A, incumbent Kathryn Dodge filed for Seat F and incumbent Lance Roberts filed for Seat G.

Seat A is currently held by Van Lawrence, who filed a letter of interest with APOC, but his paperwork is not yet reflected on the borough’s website.

Fairbanks City Council
Two city council seats are up for grabs, and one candidacy has been declared for each since filing opened Monday.

Seat B incumbent Perry Walley declared his candidacy this week.

Joy Huntington is chasing Seat A, her full name Melanie Joy Shockly Huntington. Seat A incumbent Renee Staley said she’s unsure if she will seek re-election.

North Pole
Little seems to have changed in the races for North Pole. Current Mayor Bryce Ward has filed a letter of intent with APOC to run for re-election. Two council seats are also on the ballot this year — one of the incumbents has reached term limit.

No one could be reached at city hall to ask if anyone has filed to run for council, or additional mayor candidates.

School board and Interior Gas Utility
Two seats on the Fairbanks North Star Borough School Board are on the ballot this October. Both incumbents — Lisa Gentry and Heidi Haas — have filed to run for re-election.

Two seats are also available to run for on the Interior Gas Utility, a public corporation formed by the borough. Seat B incumbent Michael Meeks, who was appointed when the utility was formed in 2012, has filed a candidacy declaration.

No one has expressed interest in running for Seat A yet, currently held by Nadine Winters.
Contact staff writer Robin Wood at 459-7510.