Board of Directors

Meetings of the Interior Gas Utility Board of Directors are held regularly at the IGU Offices, 100 Cushman Street, Suite 512. All meetings are open to the public. Board Meeting are held on the first Tuesday, Work Sessions are held on the third Tuesday, and Finance Committee meetings are held on the fourth Tuesday of each Month.  The Finance Committee meeting is the only meeting that is held at a different location and that location is 3408 International Street.

The FNSB Assembly created and approved IGU as a public corporation, wholly-owned subsidiary of the FNSB. The IGU Board of Directors is authorized to manage and operate the utility in accordance with prevailing industry practices and general standards common to utilities providing the same service.

Four seats are elected positions voted by residents of the FNSB. The first election was held on October 7, 2014. Three board members are appointed by the Mayors of the City of North Pole, the City of Fairbanks, and the FNSB.

View agendas and meeting notes

Current IGU Board of Directors

Steve Haagenson
Steve HaagensonChair, FNSB Appointed Seat, Term Expires Dec. 31, 2022
Mr. Haagenson has extensive utility experience, being a previous President and CEO of Golden Valley Electric Association, and also holding previous positions at GVEA as an electrical engineer, an interim Manager of Operations, the Manager of Engineering Services, and the Vice President for Transmission and Distribution. Mr. Haagenson has also served as Statewide Energy Coordinator and Executive Director for the Alaska Energy Authority, and is a present member of the Alaska Gasline Port Authority.
Mike Miller
Mike MillerVice-Chair, City of North Pole Appointed Seat, Term Expires Dec. 31, 2022
Mike Miller was born in Fairbanks and is a lifelong Alaskan, married to wife, Susan, for 44 years, with children and their spouses; Teffonie and Phillip (5 children), and Carissa and Paul (3 children).

His political experience includes: Senate President (1997-1998), Commissioner of Administration with the State of Alaska (2003-2004), City of North Pole Council (1976-1980), Alaska State House (1982-1992), & Alaska State Senate (1992-2000).

Community Activity includes: Original Board Member of Project 714 (STARS), Drug Intervention and Prevention Program for Secondary Schools; Past Board Member of Crisis Pregnancy Outpost for North Pole/Fairbanks area; Member of the National Federation of Independent Business (NFIB).

Mike’s background includes attending Monroe Catholic High School, & University of Alaska at Fairbanks. His current occupation (1966-present) is President/Owner of Santa Claus House, North Pole, Alaska. Mike’s history includes Alaska Commissioner of Administration (2003-2004); Alaska State Legislator (1982-2000); & Warehouseman, Trans Alaska Pipeline (1974-1978); & military service in the Alaska Air National Guard (1971-1974).

Mike’s hobbies include coin collecting, history, antiquing, family gatherings, & grandchildren.

Patrice Lee
Patrice LeeAt-Large Seat D, Term Expires Dec. 31, 2020
Mrs. Lee is a forty year resident of Fairbanks and has been working for years to improve air quality in our community. She is the founder and coordinator of Citizens for Clean Air and the Citizen Scientist Air Quality Monitoring Project. She has worked extensively at the local, state, and federal level to improve air quality, while keeping the need for affordable energy at the forefront. She has extensive experience working with the Environmental Protection Agency to keep Alaska on a timeline to comply with the Federal Clean Air Act. She grew up in Idaho earning her Bachelor’s Degree in Zoology with Minors in Chemistry and French Language from the College of Idaho, Caldwell, Idaho.
Mary Nordale
Mary NordaleAt-Large Seat B, Term Expires Oct. 31, 2021
Mary Nordale is a lifelong Alaskan that has served our community with integrity and skill for decades. She is an expert in finances and serves as a local attorney. Mary was born in Fairbanks and attended elementary school in Fairbanks and then Juneau, where she graduated from Juneau High School.

Mary attended The University of Vienna in Austria from 1955-1956. She returned to the US to attend Gonzaga University in Spokane, Washington where she graduated in 1957 with a B.A. In 1959 Mary worked as an Assistant Clerk of the House. Then from 1959 to 1960 she worked for Governor William A. Egan. From 1960-1968 she worked for Senator Bob Bartlett. While working for Senator Bartlett she attended law school at George Washington University earning her juris doctorate in 1966. Mary has been a member of the Alaska Bar Association since 1969.

Mary was an assistant US attorney from 1968-1969 then an assistant District Attorney from 1969-1970. From 1970 – 1972 she worked for the Small Business Administration. From 1972 to the present-day Mary has been a private practice attorney serving the Fairbanks area. In 1984 she was the Alaska State Commissioner of Revenue.

Community Involvement:
1970-1977 BOD President for the Fairbanks Rehabilitation Assoc.
1973-1975 Alaska Retarded Children’s Association
1973 Central District Democratic Committee
1983 Vice Chair of The Alaska Reapportionment Board

Pamela Throop
Pamela ThroopAt-Large Seat A, Term Expires Oct. 31, 2021
Director Throop has lived in Alaska since 1975. She has been self-employed since 1980. During that time, she created two real-estate companies, a construction company and a development company. Her primary career has been in commercial real estate and business sales, industrial and commercial construction and development. She has served as a Director on the boards of Habitat for Humanity, Thrive Alaska, Interior Center for Nonviolent Living, Alaska Association of Realtors, Greater Fairbanks Board of Realtors, ReMax Brokers Council, and Alaska Housing Market Council. Her interest in IGU is to create an affordable safe place for future generations to live long productive lives.
Jack Wilbur
Jack WilburSeat C, Term Expires Dec. 31, 2020
Mr. Wilbur is a fourth generation Fairbanks resident who is currently Chief Financial Officer for Design Alaska; he was Design Alaska’s President from 1995 through 2013. Mr. Wilbur is currently Board Chair for Fairbanks Economic Development Corporation, a member of the Greater Fairbanks Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors (past Board Chair), and a member of the Alaska Chamber Board of Directors.
Gary Wilken
Gary WilkenCity of Fairbanks Appointed Seat, Term Expires Dec. 31, 2022
Gary Wilken is a 62-year resident of Fairbanks. He is married to Sue and they have four grown children, all residing in Fairbanks. He graduated from Lathrop High School (1964) and then earned a B.S. degree in Business and Technology (minor – Petroleum Geology) and an M.B.A. from Oregon State University in 1968 and 1970. Gary’s a retired small businessman, having owned, for 30 years, Fairbanks Distributors, Great Alaskan Food Co. and Husky Food Products, all wholesale distributors. Gary proudly served the City of Fairbanks and Ft. Wainwright for 12 years as a state senator serving on Senate Finance ten years, four as co-chair. He retired in 2008. Gary has served on numerous community and statewide boards of directors. Those relating to IGU would be the Fairbanks Municipal Utility System for 13 years and 8 years on the state of Alaska sovereign debt development corporation known as AIDEA.