IGU Board of Directors

IGU Board of Directors2018-10-01T10:03:21+00:00

Meetings of the Interior Gas Utility Board of Directors are held the first Tuesday of every month and a work session is held every third Tuesday of the month at the IGU Offices, 100 Cushman Street, Suite 512. All meetings are open to the public.

The FNSB Assembly created and approved IGU as a public corporation, wholly-owned subsidiary of the FNSB.  The IGU Board of Directors is authorized to manage and operate the utility in accordance with prevailing industry practices and general standards common to utilities providing the same service.

Four seats are elected positions voted by residents of the FNSB, held the first Tuesday in October. The first election was held on October 7, 2014. Three board members are appointed by the Mayors of the City of North Pole, the City of Fairbanks, and the FNSB. Board terms are for three years.

View Agendas and Meeting Notes

Current Board of Directors

Pamela Throop
Pamela ThroopChair, At-Large Seat A, Term Expires Dec. 31, 2018
Director Throop has lived in Alaska since 1975. She has been self-employed since 1980. During that time, she created two real-estate companies, a construction company and a development company. Her primary career has been in commercial real estate and business sales, industrial and commercial construction and development. She has served as a Director on the boards of Habitat for Humanity, Thrive Alaska, Interior Center for Nonviolent Living, Alaska Association of Realtors, Greater Fairbanks Board of Realtors, ReMax Brokers Council, and Alaska Housing Market Council. Her interest in IGU is to create an affordable safe place for future generations to live long productive lives.
Jack Wilbur
Jack Wilbur Vice-Chair, Seat C, Term Expires Dec. 31, 2020
Mr. Wilbur is a fourth generation Fairbanks resident who is currently Chief Financial Officer for Design Alaska; he was Design Alaska’s President from 1995 through 2013. Mr. Wilbur is currently Board Chair for Fairbanks Economic Development Corporation, a member of the Greater Fairbanks Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors (past Board Chair), and a member of the Alaska Chamber Board of Directors.
William (Bill) Butler
William (Bill) ButlerCity of North Pole Appointed Seat, Term Expires Dec. 31, 2019
Mr. Butler is currently the Director of City Services for the City of North Pole where he oversees the water and sewer, public works, and building departments. Prior to working for the City, Butler was the Associate Director for the University of Alaska Fairbanks Cooperative Extension Service. Before relocating to Alaska in 2003 to work for UAF, Butler was the Executive Director of Cornell Cooperative Extension Service of Jefferson County, New York. He also worked for the East Tennessee State University College of Medicine as the Associate Director of the North East Tennessee Area Health Educations Center and he worked for the Center for Rural Pennsylvania, a legislative agency of the Pennsylvania General Assembly. Butler grew up in southeast Pennsylvania, earned his BS, MA and PhD degrees from Penn State. He also served overseas with the Peace Corps in Cameroon, West Africa.
Gary Wilken
Gary WilkenCity of Fairbanks Appointed Seat, Term Expires Dec. 31, 2019
Gary Wilken is a 62-year resident of Fairbanks. He is married to Sue and they have four grown children, all residing in Fairbanks. He graduated from Lathrop High School (1964) and then earned a B.S. degree in Business and Technology (minor – Petroleum Geology) and an M.B.A. from Oregon State University in 1968 and 1970. Gary’s a retired small businessman, having owned, for 30 years, Fairbanks Distributors, Great Alaskan Food Co. and Husky Food Products, all wholesale distributors. Gary proudly served the City of Fairbanks and Ft. Wainwright for 12 years as a state senator serving on Senate Finance ten years, four as co-chair. He retired in 2008. Gary has served on numerous community and statewide boards of directors. Those relating to IGU would be the Fairbanks Municipal Utility System for 13 years and 8 years on the state of Alaska sovereign debt development corporation known as AIDEA.
Steve Haagenson
Steve HaagensonFNSB Appointed Seat, Term Expires Dec. 31, 2019
Mr. Haagenson has extensive utility experience, being a previous President and CEO of Golden Valley Electric Association, and also holding previous positions at GVEA as an electrical engineer, an interim Manager of Operations, the Manager of Engineering Services, and the Vice President for Transmission and Distribution. Mr. Haagenson has also served as Statewide Energy Coordinator and Executive Director for the Alaska Energy Authority, and is a present member of the Alaska Gasline Port Authority.
Mike Meeks
Mike MeeksAt-Large Seat B, Term Expires Dec. 31, 2018
Mr. Meeks retired from Federal Service after 36 years as an Army Officer and an Army Civilian. During that time period he was the Director of Public Works for Fort Wainwright for eighteen years. Over three decades he has led and managed a wide variety of military and civilian organizations. As the Director of Public Works he was responsible for all the utilities, which included a coal fired power plant. He was first appointed to the Gas Board by the City of Fairbanks, then in 2015 he ran for election and won his seat. Mr. Meeks is currently the Chief of Staff to the Mayor of Fairbanks.
Patrice Lee
Patrice LeeAt-Large Seat D, Term Expires Dec. 31, 2020
Mrs. Lee is a forty year resident of Fairbanks and has been working for years to improve air quality in our community. She is the founder and coordinator of Citizens for Clean Air and the Citizen Scientist Air Quality Monitoring Project. She has worked extensively at the local, state, and federal level to improve air quality, while keeping the need for affordable energy at the forefront. She has extensive experience working with the Environmental Protection Agency to keep Alaska on a timeline to comply with the Federal Clean Air Act. She grew up in Idaho earning her Bachelor’s Degree in Zoology with Minors in Chemistry and French Language from the College of Idaho, Caldwell, Idaho.

The Original Board of Directors

Original IGU Board Members from L to R: Bob Shefchik (2012-2015), Steve Haagenson, Oran Paul (2012-2014), Vice-Chairman Mike Meeks, Jim Laiti (2012-2014), Bill Butler, Frank Abegg

Original IGU Board Members from L to R: Bob Shefchik (2012-2015), Steve Haagenson, Oran Paul (2012-2014), Vice-Chairman Mike Meeks, Jim Laiti (2012-2014), Bill Butler, Frank Abegg.